Great Britain

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is situated off the Northwest coast of Europe. The UK consists of four parts. They are: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. The UK lies on the British Isles. The two main islands are: Great Britain and Ireland. They are separated from the continent by the English Channel and the Strait of Dover. The west coast of the country is washed by the Atlantic Ocean and the Irish Sea, the east coast is washed by the North Sea.

English is the official, but not the only language which people speak in the country.

Britain has been many centuries in the making. It waged numerous colonial wars. In the modern world England was the first country where capitalism was established.

Geographically Great Britain is divided into Lowland Britain and Highland Britain. Lowland Britain comprises Southern and Eastern England. Highland Britain includes Scotland, Wales, the Pennines and the Lake District. The flora of the British Isles is much varied and the fauna is similar to that of the north-west of Europe. The country is not very rich in natural resources. There are a lot of rivers in Great Britain. The Severn is the longest river, the Thames is the most important one.

London is the capital of the UK. It was founded in the 5-th century AD. The largest cities of Great Britain besides London are: Birmingham, Liverpool, Manchester, Edinburgh.

Great Britain is a constitutional monarchy. The powers of the British Queen are limited by Parliament. The British Parliament consists of the sovereign, the House of Lords and the House of Commons.

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland has always played an important role in world politics.